I love looking around the house for everyday items to use in new ways.

For the Christmas centerpiece shown here, I hauled a winter scarf out of the closet for the table runner. Winter scarves make a great Christmas table runner because they’re wam-looking, long, narrow and can be washed easily.  Just make sure  they’re fairly flat (the one shown here is chenille) and wide enough to hold your centerpiece.  I especially like a plaid pattern for Christmas, but whatever coordinates with your dishes will work, even a solid color. 

For the centerpiece, I used a shallow, narrow wood tray. I added three small glass candle votives, pine branches and layered a few Christmas ornaments in colors that matched the scarf.

A great look!

For more ideas, click on the christmas table settings tab (under tags) on the left-hand column.

For home decorating ideas, visist www.roomplanners.com.

